Our People

The Association is formed of our Patron, our President, an Executive Committee and a dedicated team of professionals supporting our members and delivering our events.
The Air & Space Power Association President is usually a retired senior air rank officer or equivalent from the Royal Navy or British Army and approved by the Patron. The Chairman is selected by the President and this appointment is agreed by the ASPA Committee.

Our Patron

Air Chief Marshal Sir Rich Knighton KCB ADC FREng

Air Chief Marshal Sir Rich Knighton is Chief of the Air Staff in command of the Royal Air Force and Patron of The Air & Space Power Association. Air Chief Marshal Knighton took over as the Chief of the Air Staff on 2 June 2023. Brought up in Derbyshire and educated at the local Comprehensive School, Air Chief Marshal Knighton joined the Royal Air Force in 1988 as a University Cadet and studied Engineering at Clare College Cambridge. He spent his early career in frontline roles working on Nimrod Maritime Patrol Aircraft, Tornado and in several roles on the Harrier Force. He has served as the Station Commander at Royal Air Force Wittering where he was also the RAF’s Logistics Force Commander. He has held a range staff appointments in the Ministry of Defence, Air Command and in equipment acquisition and support. He has been closely involved in strategic and capability planning for the Royal Air Force and Defence. He was the Assistant Chief of Air Staff during the 2015 Strategic Defence and Security Review, where he was responsible for the strategic coherence and coordination of the Royal Air Force and planning for the RAF100 Centenary. The most senior role he has held in the Ministry of Defence was as the Deputy Chief of Defence Staff for Military Capability. Before his appointment as Chief of the Air Staff, he was Deputy Commander Capability and People at Air Command, responsible for the strategic planning and delivery of all aspects of Royal Air Force capability including people, equipment, infrastructure and training. He has completed the Advanced Command and Staff Course, the Royal College of Defence Studies, the UK Pinnacle Course and the joint UK/US Rising Leaders Course. He is also a Fellow of the Royal Academy of Engineers and has an Honorary Doctorate from Derby University. He is an ambassador for the Royal Air Force Charitable Trust, and the Royal Air Forces Association, and is President of the Royal Air Force Winter Sports Federation, Hockey Association and Powerlifting Association. He was appointed to the Military Division of the Most Honourable Order of the Bath as a Commander (CB) in 2017 and as Knight Commander (KCB) in 2023.

Our President

Air Marshal Greg Bagwell CB CBE

Air Marshal (Ret’d.) Greg Bagwell is President of The Air and Space Power Association. As President, his role is to maintain the support of our Patron, the Chief of the Air Staff and promote the links between the Association and senior Service, Civil Service, Industry and Media personnel. Greg served for 36 years in the Royal Air Force, leading at all levels, and retired as the Deputy Commander and a member of the Air Force Board. He joined in 1981 as a combat pilot and flew the Tornado GR1/GR4 and F-18 Hornet on operations for over 20 years. The latter half of his service career saw him become one of the RAF's most experienced operational commanders, where he oversaw combat operations in Iraq, Afghanistan, Libya and Syria, as well as numerous humanitarian and peace keeping missions world-wide. He was the UK’s first Director of Joint Warfare, where he was responsible for the development of all UK military capability. He is a graduate of the Indian Defence Services and Staff College, Wellington. Today, he is an Executive Director for Cobham. In addition, to being the President of The Air and Space Power Association, he is also a Distinguished Fellow of the Royal United Services Institute, and a trustee of Flying for Freedom, a group dedicated to helping wounded, injured and sick service women and men learn to fly on flex-wings and microlights.

Our Chairman

Air Commodore (Ret’d) Mark Roberts CBE MA MBA RAF

Mark Roberts is the Chair of the Executive Committee of The Air and Space Power Association responsible for the Association’s strategic direction and governance and planning. Previously an operational pilot in the Royal Air Force, he commanded both 12 Squadron and RAF Lossiemouth. Mark was Director of the Air Staff with Space and Cyber Policy in his portfolio, and Head of Capability Deep Target Attack, with responsibility for Combat Air, Complex Weapons, Land Engagement and elements of the Carrier programme. Mark is Managing Director of Gravitlab, a space technology and research company based in Norwich, UK. He is also Project Director for Spaceport 1 and is a serving member of 601 Squadron.He was formerly Director Defence & Security for RHEA Group and Business Development Director International Defence, Security and Space for Atkins.

Our Director of Operations

Clive Elliott

Clive Elliott is the Director of Operations for The Air & Space Power Association and is responsible for managing the activities of the team and promoting and developing the Association’s existing and new ventures and partnerships. Clive has been a member of the Executive Committee of the ASPA since 2007 and has managed its day-to-day operations including development of the membership and organising the annual events since that time. In addition to his role at the ASPA, Clive is the owner/Director of Eventuality, a corporate event management company which he established in 1999 providing a range of event services to clients such as the Royal Air Force, Breitling, Jaguar and Airbus. Other key roles include Honorary Commander at RAF Fairford where he previously held the post of Chairman of the British American Committee helping the USAF and local communities live in perfect harmony. Clive was a member of the Royal International Air Tattoo team for many years and was the Air Show Director for RAF Cosford Air Show from 2014 to 2022. Raised in Bristol and educated at Bristol Grammar School, Clive gained a degree in Economics and Philosophy from Staffordshire University. Clive lives in Fairford with his wife Catherine and two children.


Officers of the Chairman’s Executive Committee include the Director of Operations, Secretary, Treasurer, Events Secretary and Membership Secretary. The ASPA also has a general Committee made up of the Executive Committee members, the ASPA Administrator, representatives of the Corporate Members, the ASPA PR adviser, a representative of the Individual Members and others elected or co-opted to represent the other Services and other relevant organisations.